About us

Research Team

Diane_Marcottefinale8dec2021_edited.jpg

Diane Marcotte

Professor

marcotte.diane@uqam.ca

 

Department of Psychology – Faculty of Social Sciences 

Tel.: (514) 987-3000 ext. 2619

Office: SU-3175

Diane Marcotte is a graduate of the University of Ottawa and has been a professor-researcher for over 30 years. She is the head of the Laboratoire de recherche sur la santé mentale des jeunes en contexte scolaire and founder of two prevention programs: the Pare-Chocs depression prevention program for teenagers and the Zenstudies depression and anxiety prevention program for young adults. Her research primarily focuses on the emergence of depression and anxiety during the transitions between primary school and secondary school and between secondary school and college. She identifies subsets of at-risk students and school dropout trajectories. She conducts a research program on the validation of cognitive-behavioural models for depression, anxiety and the emergence of internalized mental health disorders during school transitions. She also develops interaction models between personal, family and social risk factors and school factors. 

Our Department

Pavillon-01
Pavillon-01

press to zoom
Pavillon-02
Pavillon-02

press to zoom
Pavillon-04
Pavillon-04

press to zoom
Pavillon-01
Pavillon-01

press to zoom
1/4

The Lab is located in the Adrien-Pinard (SU) building of UQÀM. 

100 Sherbrooke West, Montreal. 

 

 

 

 

115_Nous_04_ML.jpg

Marie-Laurence Paré

Psychologist, PhD

Marie-Laurence completed her doctoral training in the spring of 2020 and works as a psychologist in CLSC with young people in difficulty. Associated with the work of the Research Laboratory for several years, she is co-author of the ZenStudies mental health prevention program. Her doctoral research focused on personal goals among youth at risk of depression in the context of the secondary-college transition. Her work has demonstrated the effectiveness of the ZenStudies program to reduce depressive symptoms as well as the major importance of a positive perception of personal goals in the prevention of depression in emerging adults.

laberge Photo_labo_edited.jpg

Myriam Laberge

Graduate student

Myriam Laberge holds a Master's degree in college teaching from the University of Sherbrooke, and has been a professor at Cégep Édouard-Montpetit since 2004. She completed the complementary training in psychology at UQAM in 2022, and was then admitted to the Doctorate in psychology, intervention profile (Psy.D.), under the direction of Ms. Diane Marcotte, Ph.D. In the context of her doctoral thesis, she is interested in the evaluation of the mediating role of the relational components (relationships with peers, parents and the lover) in the effectiveness of the Zenétudes program.

picture-claire_orig_edited.jpg

Claire Starrs

Research consultant

Claire Starrs obtained her clinical psychology PhD from McGill University in 2013. She work as a research professional in the labo, especially on the statistical treatment of Zenstudies' data. Her early work focused on risk and stress.  Her doctoral thesis focuses on self-criticism and dependency and stress in Mainland Chinese adolescents. During her postdoc, she worked on a groundbreaking observer-rated system fro coding coping mechanisms. 

115.Logo-rond_Couleur_Gros.png

Carole Viel

C.O.

Carole Viel has completed university studies in criminology, small group facilitation and guidance. She has worked as a guidance counsellor, curriculum developer, research officer and educational consultant in various settings. This combination of her interests in people, research and design has allowed her to realize her potential as a research professional in the development of the Zenétudes program: living the transition to CEGEP in a healthy way.

115_Nous_06_Cynthia.jpeg

Cynthia Lamarre

Psychologist, PhD

Cynthia Lamarre completed her doctoral work as part of the Laboratory’s research program. She is a co-author of the ZenStudies Mental Health Prevention Program and was particularly interested in the Mindfulness Practice Learning component of the ZenStudies program. His work confirmed the relationship between perfectionism, mindfulness and anxiety. In addition, the results of his research have demonstrated the effectiveness of the ZenStudies program in reducing anxiety symptoms.

Simon Lapierre.jpg

Simon Lapierre

Étudiant

lapierre.simon.3@courrier.uqam.ca

Simon Lapierre completed his bachelor's degree in psychology (honors profile) at the Université du Québec à Montréal and is a doctoral student in psychology (research/intervention profile). He is particularly interested in mental health prevention among adolescents and emerging adults. More specifically, his thesis will focus on the prevention of depression. He is doing his doctorate at the Laboratoire sur la santé mentale des jeunes en contexte scolaire, under the direction of Dr. Diane Marcotte.

Photo Louison Gros 99418AA3-9B5B-4293-A761-8ECFFB2F668F_edited.jpg

Louison Gros

Graduate student

Louison Gros holds a bachelor's degree in psychology from UQAM and a bachelor's degree in psychology from the Université Savoie Mont-Blanc. She is completing her doctorate in psychology, intervention profile (Psy.D.), under the direction of Dr. Diane Marcotte, Ph.D. In the context of her doctoral research, she is interested in the study of the mediating role of attitudes towards school, academic motivation and study skills in the effectiveness of the Zenétudes program in reducing anxiety and depressive symptoms.

115_Nous_02_Annie.jpg

Annie Lemieux

Research consultant

Annie lemieux has been working for nearly 10 years in the field of statistical analysis in the social sciences. Her fields of expertise are regression models, longitudinal analysis, structural equation models (SEM), latent class analysis and factor analysis. 

Annie Lemieux holds a master's degree in statistics (2006) from the Université du Québec à Montréal. She is also co-author of several publications, trainer and creator of statistical seminars.

Qui nous sommes

Équipe de recherche

Diane_Marcottefinale8dec2021_edited.jpg

Diane Marcotte

Professeure

marcotte.diane@uqam.ca

 

Département de psychologie Faculté des sciences humaines

 

Téléphone : (514) 987-3000 poste 2619

Local : SU-3175

Diane Marcotte est diplômée de l’Université d’Ottawa et professeure-chercheuse universitaire depuis plus de 30 ans. Elle dirige le Laboratoire de recherche sur la santé mentale des jeunes en contexte scolaire. Auteure du programme de prévention de la dépression Pare-Chocs pour les adolescents ainsi que du programme de prévention de la dépression et de l’anxiété Zenétudes pour les jeunes adultes, elle s’intéresse à l’émergence de la dépression et de l’anxiété pendant les transitions scolaires primaire-secondaire et secondaire-collégial. Elle identifie les sous-types d’élèves à risque et les trajectoires du décrochage  scolaire. Elle mène un programme de recherche sur la validation de modèles cognitivo-comportementaux de la dépression et l’anxiété et l'émergence des troubles de santé mentale intériorisés pendant les transitions scolaires. Elle procède à l’élaboration de modèles d'interaction entre les facteurs de risque personnels, familiaux et sociaux et les facteurs scolaires. 

Notre département

Pavillon-01
Pavillon-01

press to zoom
Pavillon-02
Pavillon-02

press to zoom
Pavillon-04
Pavillon-04

press to zoom
Pavillon-01
Pavillon-01

press to zoom
1/4

Le laboratoire est situé au pavillon Adrien-Pinard (SU) de l’UQAM,

100 Sherbrooke ouest, Montréal.

 

 

 

 

115_Nous_04_ML.jpg

Marie-Laurence Paré

Psychologue, PhD

Marie-Laurence a complété sa formation doctoral au printemps 2020 et travaille comme psychologue en CLSC auprès des jeunes en difficultés. Associée au travaux du Laboratoire de recherche depuis plusieurs années elle est co-autrice du programme de prévention en santé mentale Zenétudes. Sa recherche doctorale a porté sur les buts personnels chez les jeunes à risque de dépression dans le contexte de la transition secondaire-collégial. Ses travaux ont permis de démontrer l’efficacité du programme Zenétudes ainsi que l’importance majeure d’une perception positive des buts personnels dans la prévention de la dépression chez les adultes émergents.

laberge Photo_labo_edited.jpg

Myriam Laberge

Étudiante

Myriam Laberge est détentrice d’une Maîtrise en enseignement au collégial de l’Université de Sherbrooke, et professeure au Cégep Édouard-Montpetit depuis 2004. Elle a complété la formation complémentaire en psychologie de l’UQAM en 2022, pour ensuite être admise au doctorat en psychologie, profil intervention (Psy.D.), sous la direction de Dre Diane Marcotte, Ph.D. Dans le cadre de son essai doctoral, elle s’intéresse à l’évaluation du rôle médiateur des composantes relationnelles (relations avec les pairs, les parents et l’amoureux/se) dans l’efficacité du programme Zenétudes.

picture-claire_orig_edited.jpg

Claire Starrs

Professionelle de recherche

Claire Starrs a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie clinique à l'Université McGill en 2013. Elle travaille comme professionnelle de la recherche dans le labo, notamment sur le traitement statistique des données de Zenstudies. Ses premiers travaux ont porté sur le risque et le stress.  Sa thèse de doctorat porte sur l'autocritique, la dépendance et le stress chez les adolescents de Chine continentale. Pendant son post-doctorat, elle a travaillé sur un système novateur de codage des mécanismes d'adaptation évalué par un observateur. 

115.Logo-rond_Couleur_Gros.png

Carole Viel

C.O.

Carole Viel a  effectué des études universitaires en criminologie, animation des petits groupes et orientation. Elle a été appelée à oeuvrer à titre de conseillère d’orientation, de conceptrice de programmes d’études, d’agente de recherche et de conseillère pédagogique dans des milieux variés. Cette alliance de ses intérêts pour l’humain, la recherche et la conception lui ont permis de se réaliser dans le contexte de son implication comme professionnelle de recherche dans le projet d’élaboration du programme Zenétudes : vivre sainement la transition au cégep.

115_Nous_06_Cynthia.jpeg

Cynthia Lamarre

Psychologue, PhD

Cynthia Lamarre a réalisé son travail doctoral dans le cadre du programme de recherche du Laboratoire. Elle est co-autrice du programme de prévention en santé mentale Zenétudes et s’est intéressée plus particulièrement à la composante touchant l’apprentissage de la pratique de la pleine conscience dans l’implantation du programme ZenStudies. Ses travaux ont confirmé la relation entre le perfectionnisme, la pleine conscience et l’anxiété. De plus, les résultats de ses recherche ont démontré l’efficacité du programme ZenStudies à réduire les symptômes d’anxiété.

Simon Lapierre.jpg

Simon Lapierre

Étudiant

lapierre.simon.3@courrier.uqam.ca

Simon Lapierre a réalisé son baccalauréat en psychologie profil honors a l'Université du Québec à Montréal et est étudiant au doctorat en psychologie profil recherche/intervention. Il s'intéresse particulièrement à la prévention en santé mentale chez les adolescents et les adultes émergents. Plus précisément, sa thèse portera sur la prévention de la dépression. Il réalise son doctorat au Laboratoire sur la santé mentale des jeunes en contexte scolaire, sous la direction de Dre Diane Marcotte, Phd.

Photo Louison Gros 99418AA3-9B5B-4293-A761-8ECFFB2F668F_edited.jpg

Louison Gros

Étudiante

Louison Gros est détentrice d'un baccalauréat en psychologie de l'UQAM et d'une licence en psychologie de l'Université Savoie Mont-Blanc. Elle réalise son  doctorat en psychologie, profil intervention (Psy.D.), sous la direction de Dre Diane Marcotte, Ph.D. Dans le cadre de son essai doctoral, elle s’intéresse à l'étude du rôle médiateur des attitudes face à l'école, de la motivation scolaire et des habiletés d'étude dans l’efficacité du programme Zenétudes pour diminuer les symptômes anxieux et dépressifs.

115_Nous_02_Annie.jpg

Annie Lemieux

Professionelle de recherche

Annie lemieux œuvre depuis près de 10 ans dans le domaine de l’analyse statistique en sciences sociales. Ses champs d’expertise sont les modèles de régressions, les analyses longitudinales, les modèles d’équations structurelles (SEM), les analyses de classes latentes et les analyses factorielles.

 

Annie Lemieux est titulaire d’une maitrise en statistique (2006) de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Elle est aussi coauteure de plusieurs publications, formatrice et créatrice de séminaires statistiques.